New Music From The xx

Alleviate your latest bout of the Mondays with The xx’s latest song, “Angels”, from their upcoming album entitled Coexist, which will be released on September 11th courtesy of Young Turks. Though minimal in nature, “Angels” is complex in its structure and use of restraint. The subtle alternation between clean guitar hooks and faint percussions conveys feelings of hope, longing and slight trepidation. Romy Madley Croft’s soft but direct vocals reinforce these sentiments while also presenting a sense of confidence from being so forthright in her avowals. This exquisite balance of structure and vocals presents listeners with a song that’s both hypnotic and intimate. It’s as if you’re listening to a private confession.

Starting at midnight, you can receive “Angels” upon pre-ordering Coexist on iTunes or the band’s webstore. The album’s full tracklisting can be found below:

1)    Angels
2)    Chained
3)    Fiction
4)    Try
5)    Reunion
6)    Sunset
7)    Missing
8)    Tides
9)    Unfold
10) Swept Away
11) Our Song

The xx have also announced a slew of U.S. tour dates for the fall, which will include a stop at Baltimore’s Rams Head Live on October 30th.

– Joanie O’Sullivan


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s